All About Lions: The King of the Jungle


The lion is the king of the jungle and has been an important part of African culture for centuries. They are one of the most popular animals around the world and have a variety of social behaviors and characteristics that make them unique and interesting to learn about. Read on to discover more information about lions, including their physical features, habitat, behavior, diet, and more!


The lion is one of nature's most majestic creatures with its regal mane adorning its head like a crown. Its name comes from Leo which means 'lion' in Latin (and also happens to be where we get our name for boys).


Description and Appearance


The lion is a member of the family 'Felidae' and belongs to the genus known as Panthera. The Panthera genus includes tigers, leopards, jaguars, and snow leopards. The lion is the only Panthera species found in Africa, but females have been known to mate with tigers or leopards before.


Better known as the 'king of the jungle', this large cat has an imposing mane which is found on male but not female lions. A full-grown male lion can grow up to 10 feet (3 meters) long without his mane and around 13 feet (4 meters) with it, only rivaled by tigers in terms of size.


Lions are very social creatures that live together in a pride which is typically made up of around five to twelve female lions and their respective young. A group of female lions is known as a pride, while the adult males are called a coalition if there are more than two (a group of two is also called a 'pair'). The size of each pride/coalition can vary greatly depending on how many lionesses there are.


Each pride/coalition of lions is usually headed by an alpha lion, the strongest of the group who tends to be a male. The alpha can make a variety of noises and different combinations to communicate with his pride.


If you don’t link noise, you wouldn’t be fond of a lion. However, if you’re a fan of how they look and thrive in the jungle, and still can’t find a way to appreciate a lion’s roar, then Gage Beasley’s Full-Size Lion Soft Stuffed Plush Toy is the best product for you! Not only does it not make noise, but its mane is as wonderful and free-flowing as ever. Not only that, but you’ll also enjoy a whole 120cm plushie all to yourself! The king has turned into a huggable friend—who would’ve thought?


Gage Beasley’s Full Size Lion Soft Stuffed Plush Toy


They do this through scent marking, roaring, and 'pant-grumbling' – a deep growling noise that lionesses are particularly sensitive to. The coalition of lions are usually the ones that do most of the hunting for their pride, however, females are known to steal meat from other predators when they get the chance.





The diet of a lion is 100% carnivorous, consisting mostly of large herbivores such as zebras, wildebeests, impala, and antelope. Their favorite prey is giraffes due to how tall they are making them easier to attack.


They use their incredible jumping abilities to knock down prey from trees while hunting. They then kill their prey through suffocation (clutching the throat) or with a fatal bite to the neck/spine.


A lioness needs around 6kg of meat per day while it takes around 3kg for a male.

Lions spend most of their time resting since adults hunt only once every 5-6 days. They can go up to one week without eating in between meals, though they eat about 50% more when the weather is cooler due to their metabolism slowing down.


Lions do not chew their food so it goes straight down into the stomach with any water or plants attached.  Their jaws are incredibly powerful and can break bones since they are made up of 40 teeth (which is more than any other carnivore).



Lionesses typically give birth to 2-3 cubs every time they have babies since just one cub isn't enough to ensure that the pride will survive. The mother lioness usually hides her cubs in tall grass or under bushes while she goes out hunting for food, at which point nearby lions can easily find them and take their own young.


The gestation period is 3-3.5 months long and the mother will then take care of them for up to 2 years before letting them go out on their own. The young cubs are quite playful, though males often fight with each other around the age of two when they're trying to establish dominance in the pride.


Indeed, young cubs are playful—but have we mentioned cute as well? These little creatures might be a little feisty in the wild and, of course, there are no surprises there. But, they’re the tamest of all when they’re in your room—especially when they’re in their plushie forms! Gage Beasley’s Lion Cub Soft Stuffed Plush Toy is as cute as it can get! The prince of the jungle has arrived, and they’re as huggable as ever!


Gage Beasley’s Lion Cub Soft Stuffed Plush Toy


They have a life expectancy of up to 20 years in the wild, but captive animals have been known to live for as long as 25 years.


Distribution and Conservation Status


They are widely distributed across the continent of Africa, though their numbers have greatly declined since the 1970s due to trophy hunting and loss of habitat. There are around 32,000 lions left in the wild today.


Since they're considered apex predators, no other animals will actively seek them out to kill them (with the exception of humans). They also have no real predators outside of humans and are capable of keeping their population under control.


As a result, lions have no real conservation status and don't need to be protected as a species. However, human activity tends to drive them out of their habitats which can often lead to conflict between the two groups. As such, there is a small amount of conservation effort that goes into saving the lion.


Lions are listed as 'vulnerable' on the IUCN Red List and can be seen in zoos around Europe and North America. Some conservation efforts have been started by the Zoological Society of London to save them from extinction.


There are currently 3 living and 5 recently extinct species of lions: The Barbary lion (Panthera leo leo), also called North African or Atlas lion, which is no longer found in the wild but is still kept in captivity. The North Chinese lion (Panthera leo macedonica) is extinct in the wild but still kept in captivity. The Asiatic lion (Panthera leo persica), also called Indian or Persian lion, lives exclusively on the Gir National Park in India and is the only species of living lions. The West African lion (Panthera leo senegalensis) is also extinct in the wild but still kept in captivity. The Javan or Bali lion (Panthera leo balica), which was found on the Indonesian island of Bali and is now extinct.


Lions are very big and powerful predators that travel in groups, called prides, to hunt down prey. They use their powerful jaws to suffocate or bite into the necks of their victims and can consume up to 50% more food when it's colder out due to their metabolism slowing down.

They need around 6kg of food per day while also raising their young every 2 years. They are difficult to domesticate due to their wild nature but can last up to 25 years if they're kept in captivity. The lion is distributed across the African continent, though it has been hunted down dangerously close to extinction. There are currently 3 living types of lions and 5 extinct types, all of which are considered vulnerable to extinction.

They’re known widely for their manes and their royalty in the jungle—and now you know why these lions deserve their kingly epithets.




Deixe um comentário

Observe que os comentários devem ser aprovados antes de serem publicados